What is Sri Lanka e-Visa

Sri Lanka e-Visa or ETA (Electronic Travel Authorization) system was introduced in 2012 to make visiting Sri Lanka easier.

An e-Visa for Sri Lanka comes in three types, all available for eligible travellers online after completing the intuitive application process.

Travellers can use their approved Sri Lanka e-Visa to visit Sri Lanka for up to 30 days for either leisure or business reasons, or for a short 2-day transit stay if they plan on taking a layover through Vietnam.

The e-Visa application should be submitted no later than 3 business days to allow for the needed processing time. Once approved by the Sri Lankan Immigration and Emigration Department, the issued e-Visa will be delivered to the applicant’s email inbox in PDF form.

Who needs an e-Visa for Sri Lanka

Travellers from the following countries may submit a Sri Lanka e-Visa application:

  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • American Samoa
  • Andorra
  • Angola
  • Anguilla (UK)
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Aruba (NL)
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bermuda
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • British Virgin Islands (UK)
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde
  • Cayman Islands (UK)
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Channel Islands (UK)
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • East Timor
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Estonia
  • Eswatini (Swaziland)
  • Ethiopia
  • Falkland Islands (Malvinas) (DK)
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar (UK)
  • Glorioso Islands (FR)
  • Greece
  • Greenland (DK)
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe (FR)
  • Guam (US)
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong (SAR)
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Ireland
  • Isle of Man (UK)
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Jan Mayen (NO)
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kiribati
  • Korea, South
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Libya
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau (SAR)
  • Macedonia (North)
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Martinique (FR)
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mayotte (FR)
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Montserrat (UK)
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Navassa Island (US)
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • Netherlands Antilles (NL)
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Niue (NZ)
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paracel Islands (CN)
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Pitcairn Islands (UK)
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico (US)
  • Qatar
  • Reunion (FR)
  • Romania
  • Russian Federation
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Helena (UK)
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Suriname
  • Svalbard (NL)
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Tokelau (NZ)
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Turks and Caicos Islands (UK)
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican City (Holy See)
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Wake Island (US)
  • Wallis and Futuna (FR)
  • Western Sahara
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Check if your home country is listed above before starting the Sri Lanka e-Visa application process.

Types of Sri Lanka e-Visa

Sri Lanka e-Visa comes in three types that differ in terms of the purpose of the visit and the length of stay allowed.

Eligible travellers can choose from:

  • a tourist e-Visa
  • a business e-Visa
  • a transit e-Visa

The tourist and business Sri Lanka e-Visa operates as a double-entry travel authorization that allows a total of 30 days spent in Sri Lanka, while the transit e-Visa is issued as a 2-day travel authorization for layover purposes.

Sri Lanka e-Visa Requirements

The only document required for completing the Sri Lanka e-Visa application process is a valid passport.

Please note that your passport must remain valid for a minimum of six months from the intended date of entering Sri Lanka for your e-Visa application to get approved.

Check the validity of your document before applying for the Sri Lanka e-Visa online and renew it if necessary.

Validity of Sri Lanka e-Visa

Sri Lanka e-Visa stays effective for six months from the day it’s been issued.

The validity period is six months long, no matter the Sri Lanka e-Visa type selected.

Please note! The length of the stay allowed differs between the tourist/business and transit Sri Lanka e-Visa. The tourist and business e-Visa allow its holders to visit Sri Lanka for a total of 30 days, while the transit e-Visa makes it possible to take a 2-day layover visit.

How to apply online for the Sri Lanka e-Visa

Applying for the Sri Lanka e-Visa consists of three simple steps, all taking place online. Now, with your valid passport on hand, complete the application process by:

  1. Providing the required details into the online application form – fill out the application form with the needed information, such as your basic personal details, contact information, passport data, and details of the planned stay in Sri Lanka.
  2. Covering the Sri Lanka e-Visa issuing fee – choose any preferred method of online payment to cover the Sri Lanka e-Visa fees.
  3. Checking your email inbox for the approved document – the processed e-Visa for Sri Lanka will get delivered directly to your email inbox in the form of a PDF file.

TIP! The best way to avoid any delays or issues with approval is to double-check the completed application form before submitting it for processing since all the details provided must be correct.

How to Use Your e-Visa in Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka e-Visa, once approved, links directly to the traveller’s passport, meaning that it does not need to be printed out for the planned trip.

The approved document allows a stay of either 30 or 2 days in Sri Lanka while travellers can choose between a visits relating to:

  • leisure – taking vacation, exploring the Sri Lankan tourist attractions, making friends and family visits
  • business – taking a business trip to Sri Lanka, attending business meetings, events, trade fairs, seminars, and conferences
  • transit – taking a layover trip through Sri Lanka while reaching another country